Katsina Assembly Forces Leader , Chief Whip To Resign, Replaced them Immediately

Katsina State House of Assembly has allegedly forced two principal officers, House Leader and Chief Whip, to resign in a move aimed at having a total change of leadership of the House.

Findings revealed that those forced to resign are House Leader, Lawal Isa Kuraye, and member representing Charanci Constituency, and Chief Whip, Bishir Mamman (Dutsinma L.G).

The duo relinquished their position following the ultimatum given to them to either resign honorably or be impeached at plenary.

A source from the Assembly who does not want to be named, insisted that the members were asked to resign or be impeached following their incompetence and noted that the move is part of an overall plan to alter change in the Assembly’s leadership.

It was gathered that the resignation of the duo came after a marathon meeting between the state assembly members and the Secretary to Katsina State Government, Mustapha Muhammad Inuwa, and state APC chairman, Shitu Shitu.

A competent source said the SSG and party chairman intervened and tried all they could to persuade the Assembly from effecting some changes in its leadership but the members remained defiant.

The House promptly appointed Hambali Faruk (Katsina LG) and Bello Danmusa ( Danmusa LG) as new House Leader and Chief Whip, respectively.

But when contacted, the Press Secretary to the Speaker of Katsina State House of Assembly, Abdulrashid Kuraye, said the former officers resigned on their own volition and refuted allegations that there were moves to effect some changes in the Assembly’s leadership.

Kuraye, however, confirmed that no reason was given by the officers for their resignation saying, “they resigned after long hours of closed door meeting by the honorable members”.


Source: Leadership News paper

Related posts

Leave a Comment